Saving Virtual Schools

 I’m Hannah Ray, I am sixteen years old, and I go the Wichita eSchool. Wichita eSchool is a public home-schooling organization. The state of Kansas is obviously lacking enough money to fully fund all the schools within our state. Because of the lack of money, the state is deciding to cut funds, which is a reasonable thing to do…to some extent. Cutting school funds could lead to my school being closed. The students of my school, including myself, are scared out of our pants that our school will not be open for next year. It might not be a big deal to you, because we could always just go to a different school, right? …Wrong. The students of Wichita eSchool, began home-schooling for a reason, and each student has there own reason. These are some of the reasons; Being bullied everyday (not only be other students, but by teachers as well.), because they got pregnant, because they were sexually harassed, because they have ADHD, and regular school was just to challenging for them, the reasons are endless!! For the students of Wichita eSchool, our peers are our second family, the learning center that we go to isn’t just a school to us… it’s a safe haven. We go there to feel safe, and to help others feel safe. We don’t act like jerks to each other, and we don’t bully each other. Being home schooled lets us know that we are not vulnerable to a school shooting, it insures our families that we will be safe, and that they will see us again at the end of the day, because we are home 95% of the time. I would like to start a petition, and I need to spread the word. We are willing to raise money if we need to. But this is just the first step. I am using everything I can to get this out in the open., as soon as I get this petition started, I will post another blog with the link.

One thought on “Saving Virtual Schools

Leave a Reply

